The Rock

Canada’s most easterly province Newfoundland (pronounced “”new-fun-lan””) and Labrador consists of two main entities. The Island of Newfoundland, which is the home to the provincial capital St John’s. The other entity is Labrador, north of Newfoundland.

Most of the population of the province lives in the far more accessible Newfoundland. The inland areas are heavily forested with peat bogs and lakes, where as the shorelines are spotted with towns.

St John’s is the oldest city in North America yet the province was the last to join the to Canadian Confederation as late as 1949. A reminder to how ‘new’ Canada is as a country.