Welland Canals Centre Lock 3/St. Catharines Museum

Phone: (905) 984-8880
Tollfree: 1 (800) 305-5134
1932 Welland Canals Parkway
St Catharines ON L2R 7K6

Top Pick

Experience the history of St. Catharines and the Welland Canals at the Welland Canals Centre at Lock 3 and St. Catharines Museum. The canal is open from Late March through to the end of December. From the unique raised observation platform at the Welland Canals Centre Lock 3, witness massive freighters from around the globe bypass the Falls by climbing the Niagara Escarpment on a stairway of water. From Lake Ontario to Lake Erie ships are lifted/lowered to a height of 326 feet through 7 locks – The equivalent of Niagara Falls itself!

After viewing the giant freighters traversing Lock 3, enter the Museum and Interactive Centre, a history lesson waiting to unfold. Explore the unique history of the Welland Canals and St. Catharines, “Follow the North Star” which recounts the history of the Underground Railroad and the rich legacy of Niagara’s African Canadians. Enjoy the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame & Museum which features memorabilia of North America’s oldest sport. A 15 minute video, Welland Canals; Past and Present is included with Museum Admission. There is a gift shop on site offering unique selection of publications, gifts, souvenirs, children’s items and much more, enjoy a light lunch or snack from the snack bar, tourism information centre on site, washrooms, parket for picnics, waterfront multi-use trail, ample free coach & car parking.

Ships Transient the canal End of March - December 23rd.
Call for ship times at Lock 3 - morning of arrival (updated hourly)

Opening Hours

Open Year Round 9am-5pm (Extended summer hours)
Winter: Weekend hours (11am-4pm)
Closed: (Christmas Day - New Years Day)

Edit this Visitor Attraction

St Catharines Features

Search for     
All  Photos  Forum  Maps 






Please Wait ...


Wait...

Saving Changes