Canadian Currency

Canadian money is very similar to that of the USA. There are a few exceptions however.

Coins come in the following denominations:
One cent (Penny)
Five cent (Nickel)
Ten cent (Dime)
Twenty Five cent (Quarter)
One Dollar (Loonie)
Two Dollar (Twoonie)

The Dollar coin is known as the Loonie due to the water bird that appears on one side, the common loon.

Paper currency, known as Bills, comes in the following denominations:
5, 10, 20, 50 and 100.

The larger bills are not very common and can prove difficult to use.

In this section
Search for     
All  Photos  Forum  Maps 

Please Wait ...


Saving Changes