The Klondike

Wedged between Alaska and the Northwest Territories on each side, Yukon Territory is bounded by British Columbia, to the south and the Arctic Ocean to the north. The Yukon is one of the easiest places north of the arctic circle to access, however, it is not all that does not mean it is simple.

The only city in the territory, Whitehorse is in the south of the territory and can be accessed by roads but these roads deteriorate rapidly the further north they go. With only 25,000 residents, nearly everyone in the territory lives in Whitehorse. Despite the population size, the city limits cover 421 sq km making it the largest urban designated areas in Canada. The central downtown area of the city is very small but the residents are spread across this large area giving them plenty of space to live.